Follow Us:
You are here:

20th Anniversary Trip

20th Anniversary Trip 2014

Visiting Fleetwood and Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Clubs

From the first links course in England to one of the finest

To celebrate the 20th year of the society, we arranged an extra two day trip, visiting the scene of two of Seve Ballesteros' finest moments. I’m talking, of course, about his Open Championship victories in 1979 and 1988 at Royal Lytham & St. Annes.

Royal Lytham was a course worthy to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the society and formed a wonderful finale to a special two day trip. On the first day we visited Fleetwood Golf Club, believed to be the first links course in England and a fine test of golf.

As this trip celebrated 20 years of BUNGS, we split into two teams and played a match over the two days. The teams were split into those who have been BUNGS members the longest versus those who have joined more recently.

Established Members Team H'Cap Newer Members Team H'Cap
Graham Adams (2002) 28 Steve Barkshire (2011) 13
Graham Bilsland (2000) 2 Dennis Childs (2011) 17
Brian Dodwell (1995) 25 Wayne Conlon (2013) 21
Martyn Dodwell (1995) 6 Jack Galloway (Guest) 5
Mike Fox (1998) 18 Steve Gross (2011) 22
Gordon Galloway (2002) Dave Grubb, Captain (2006) 22
Bobby Ho (1999) 12 Alan Hall (2013) 24 
Karl Hughes (1999) 9 Bill Hancock (2004) 16
Paul Jobbins (2001) 12 Steve Harris (2010) 9
Brian Keates (2000) 24 Simon Hayward (2007) 10
Steve Lloyd (1994) 7 Alan Heard (2011) 9
John Mansell (2001) 24 Lloyd Johnson (2011) 8
Adrian Marchant (2002) 14 Phil Latham (2006) 17
Jamie Moore (2002) 17 Peter Meaney (2011) 13
John Shaw (2001) 5 Kevin Morris (2013) 5
James Shipman (1996) 9 Shaun Mullaney (2007) 4
Andy Smith (1997) 13 Neil Preston (2013) 15
Gordon Sullivan (2000) 25 Hilary Stevenson (2013) 19
Jeff Thacker (2000) 21 Graham Thorpe (2008) 19
Tim Thacker (1999) 10 Gary Tyler (2011) 17
Adam Thompson (2002) 5 John Webber (2012) 12
Alan Tolley, Captain (2002) 17 Robert Yates (2013) 17

Sunday 16th March 2014
Fleetwood Golf Club

11 x fourball-betterball matches

A bright and early start for everyone and it was coffee and bacon sandwiches on arrival at a very blustery Fleetwood Golf Club. many headed onto the practice ground and putting green while others stayed in the warm and enjoyed a second or third hot drink.

The course was in good condition but the wind made it a real test and when the light rain started, it made it very difficult and unpleasant for a while but thankfully the rain stopped after 90 minutes or so.

Alan Tolley & Jeff Thacker beat Phil Latham & Steve Barkshire 2/1 
Lloyd Johnson & Jack Galloway beat Graham Bilsland & John Mansell 4/3
Simon Hayward & Dave Grubb beat Gordon Sullivan & Mike Fox 6/5
Kevin Morris & Wayne Conlon beat Tim Thacker & Bobby Ho 1up
Martyn Dodwell & Steve Lloyd beat Alan Hall & Robert Yates 4/3
Peter Meaney & Dennis Childs beat Paul Jobbins & Graham Adams 5/4
Alan Heard & Gary Tyler beat Brian Keates & Brian Dodwell 5/4
Jamie Moore & Gordon Galloway beat Neil Preston & Bill Hancock 2/1
John Shaw & James Shipman beat Hilary Stevenson & Graham Thorpe 4/3
Andy Smith & Adrian Marchant beat John Webber & Steve Gross 1up
Karl Hughes & Adam Thompson beat Shaun Mullaney & Steve Harris 2/1

Overnight Score

Established Members Team - 6 / Newer Members Team - 5

After a quick 'snack' of meat & potato pie, chips and mushy peas there was the half hour drive along the coast through Blackpool to the Glendower Hotel in Lytham. Most people had a quick rest before heading to the bar. A lovely three course event meal was had by all before heading back to the bar. Surprisingly, Bilsland, Mansell, Heard and Tyler didn't head off into Blackpool but stayed in Lytham but were soon back at the hotel after Mansell fell asleep in Wetherspoons.

All but a few were tucked up in bed by midnight.

Monday 17th March 2014
Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club

11 x pairs stableford matches

The weather was lovely and sunny but still breezy so it was going to be a big test. The course was in superb condition, particularly the greens but it was very disappointing to find that approx 80% of the bunkers were either filled with water or undergoing maintenance and were GUR.

Shaun Mullaney & Simon Hayward beat John Shaw & Adrian Marchant 2/1 
Alan Tolley & Gordon Galloway beat Lloyd Johnson & Steve Harris 3/2
Andy Smith & Martyn Dodwell beat Jack Galloway & Alan Heard 5/4
Karl Hughes & Steve Lloyd beat Neil Preston & Graham Thorpe 4/2
Kevin Morris & Dave Grubb beat James Shipman & Jamie Moore 6/5
Adam Thompson & Tim Thacker beat Steve Barkshire & Steve Gross 3/2
Alan Hall & Bill Hancock beat Brian Dodwell & Gordon Sullivan 3/1
Gary Tyler & Peter Meaney beat Graham Bilsland & Bobby Ho 9/7
Paul Jobbins & Jeff Thacker beat John Webber & Wayne Conlon 1up
Robert Yates & Dennis Childs beat Graham Adams & Brian Keates 1up
Hilary Stevenson & Phil Latham beat John Mansell & Mike Fox 7/6

Final Score

Established Members Team - 11 / Newer Members Team - 11

After the two days of competition, it was nice that the match ended even. The best individual score on the day went to Phil Latham on 34 points (beating Simon Hayward on countback).

After a quick two course meal and the prize giving, everyone headed for home.

Let's look forward to something similar for our 25th Anniversary in 2019!

© Website by Steve Lloyd of Enterprise Marketing Services Ltd.